Yes… it’s that time of year when our high school seniors make final choices regarding which colleges they will be attending.  Thirty years ago, I was graduating from high school and I did not apply to any colleges.  I didn’t take school as seriously as I should have and I didn’t realize this until my senior year.  I was fortunate enough to have the good sense to attend Santa Rosa Junior College.  During my two years at SRJC, I grew up.  I learned what it meant to be a serious student.  I learned that I did have the “smarts” to do well in school and I learned that hard work pays off.  After those two years, a group of us transferred to UC Davis – there were about 5 of us and we all majored in some area of science (upper division biochemistry was somewhat easy compared to the chemistry classes at SRJC!).  Of the 5 of us, all have doctorate degrees, except me… and I have a masters degree!  My point is that SRJC is an excellent educational institution – my son, a student at SRJC, was just accepted to UC Berkeley this week! If you are attending SRJC – BE PROUD and look ahead at the possibilities!